9/11, Blogs and Social Media

Multimediaites —

So, to follow up on our recent Social Media discussion today, I wanted to share the travels of my blog post on 9/11 and Journalism.

As I write on the blog, I saw this #wherewereyou hashtag on Twitter on 9/10.  After reading the Twitter feed, I wrote my entry on 9/11 and then posted it on Facebook and Twitter.  Editors at The Post saw it and they posted it here.  I saw some spikes in page views but what really intrigued me were the analytics which showed page views from 9/12 on 9/11.  I thought it was a glitch but then remembered the global reach of The Post and figured I had some reading in a time zone a day ahead.  The Boston.com editor then saw it and commented on it and then added a link to the post on Boston.com’s Facebook page with this comment:  Boston.com FYI, nice remembrance by UMass prof Steve Fox, ex national/political editor of washingtonpost.com, on his 9/11/01, right here: http://umassjournalismprofs.wordpress.com/2010/09/11/remembering-911/

Nieman caught up yesterday and blogged about the hashtag.

An interesting exercise in Web publishing.

This entry was posted in blog discussion, Boston Globe, social media, Twitter, Washington Post and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

